Indian Premier League Winners

Last Updated16 Oct 2021

Mumbai Indians (MI) has won the Indian Premier League (IPL) five times followed by four times winner Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) has won two times. Rajasthan Royals (RR), Deccan Chargers (DC) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have won once. First tournament was won by Rajasthan Royals in 2008. Last 2021 season was won by Chennai Super Kings. Out of the thirteen teams that have played in the Indian Premier League, six different teams have won the Indian Premier League out of 14 held so far.

Chennai Super Kings were runner up in 5 IPL followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 3 IPL T20. Mumbai Indians (MI), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) has lost final once. Teams batting first has won nine IPL finals and batting second has won five IPL finals.

CSK has entered in semifinals/playoffs of 11 tournaments out of 12 it has participated in. MI has played nine playoffs matches followed by seven times qualifier KKR and RCB. DC and SRH has played six each. RR has qualified for playoffs four times. Out of the 13 teams, ten different teams has qualified for finals and eleven different teams has qualified for playoffs. Two teams that has never entered in playoffs is Pune Warriors India (PWI) and Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK).

In IPL 2011, Ten teams has participated. In 2012 and 2013 season, nine teams has participated. In remaining eleven seasons number of teams were eight. Five teams has played all 14 tournaments held so far.

indian premier league winners, runner up, semifinalists
TeamWinners Runner-upSemifinalist /playoff
MI (Mumbai)513
CSK (Chennai)452
KKR (Kolkata)214
SRH (Hydrabad)114
RR (Rajasthan)103
DCH (Hydrabad)101
RCB (Bangalore)034
DC (Delhi)015
KXIP (Punjab)011
RPS (Pune)010
GL (Gujarat)001
YearWinnerRunner-up SemifinalistSemifinalistResultTeams
2008RRCSKKXIP DDRR won by 3 wickets8
2009DCRCBDD CSKDC won by 6 runs8
2010CSKMIDC RCBCSK won by 22 runs8
2011CSKRCBKKR MICSK won by 58 runs10
2012KKRCSKDD MIKKR won by 5 wickets9
2013MICSKRR SRHMI won by 23 runs9
2014KKRKXIPCSK MIKKR won by 3 wickets8
2015MICSKRR RCBMI won by 41 runs8
2016SRHRCBGL KKRSRH won by 8 runs8
2017MIRPSSRH KKRMI won by 1 runs8
2018CSKSRHKKR RRCSK won by 8 wickets8
2019MICSKDC SRHMI won by 1 runs8
2020MIDCSRH RCBMI won by 5 wickets8
2021CSKKKRDC RCBCSK won by 27 runs8