Hockey World cup Winners

Source Fédération Internationale de Hockey (International Hockey Federation)
Date17 Dec 2018

The Men's Hockey World Cup was started in 1971. It is held every four years since 1978. The most recent World Cup 2018 was won by Belgium, who beat Netherlands in a penalty shootout 3–2 after the match ended in a 0–0 tie to win their first World Cup title.

Out of 14 world cups held so far, 9 nations have hosted the tournament. India and Netherlands has hosted three times each while Malaysia hosted two times. Barcelona, Spain hosted the inaugural World Cup. The 2018 tournament was held in Bhubaneswar, India.

Pakistan is the most successful team, having won the tournament four times. Netherlands and Australia have each won three titles, and Germany has won two titles. Belgium and India have both won the tournament once. Netherlands (1973 and 1998) and Germany (2006) have won the tournament as hosts. European teams have won the most with six titles, followed by Asian teams with five titles. Australia is the only team from Oceania to win the tournament.

8 different teams have played world cup finals. Netherlands was runner up most four times, followed by Pakistan, Australia, Germany and Spain two times each. India and England has lost one World Cup finals. England and Spain has lost all final matches they played.

Three world cup final matches were won on a penalty shoot-out and one was won during extra time. Most 7 goals was scored in 2006 and 2014 final. 2014 final was most one sided where Australia defeated Netherlands by 6-1.

Performance by nations

NoCountryTitlesRunners-upThird placesFourth places
10South Korea0002
11Soviet Union0001
Total 14141414

Performance by continental zones

NoCountryTitlesRunners-upThird placesFourth places
Total 14141414


YearHost WinnerRunner-upFinal Result ThirdFourthTotal Teams
Full Timeextra time/penalty
2018Bhubaneswar, IndiaBelgiumNetherlands0-03-2 on penaltiesAustraliaEngland16
2014The Hague, NetherlandsAustraliaNetherlands6-1-ArgentinaEngland12
2010New Delhi, IndiaAustraliaGermany2-1-NetherlandsEngland12
2006Mönchengladbach, GermanyGermanyAustralia4-3-SpainSouth Korea12
2002Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaGermanyAustralia2-1-NetherlandsSouth Korea16
1998Utrecht, NetherlandsNetherlandsSpain3-2extra timeGermanyAustralia12
1994Sydney, AustraliaPakistanNetherlands1-14-3 on penaltiesAustraliaGermany12
1990Lahore, PakistanNetherlandsPakistan3-1-AustraliaWest Germany12
1986London, EnglandAustraliaEngland2-1-West GermanySoviet Union12
1982Bombay, IndiaPakistanWest Germany3-1-AustraliaNetherlands12
1978Buenos Aires, ArgentinaPakistanNetherlands3-2-AustraliaWest Germany14
1975Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaIndiaPakistan3-2-West GermanyMalaysia12
1973Amstelveen, NetherlandsNetherlandsIndia2-24-2 on penaltiesWest GermanyPakistan12
1971Barcelona, SpainPakistanSpain1-0-IndiaKenya10